Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: carving selenite into pendulum?

carving selenite into pendulum? 24 Jul 16 2:52 am America/Chicago #1

• Ladon
  • Expert Member
  • Thank you received: 102
  • Study & Scholarship Award PaganPath Honor Medal
MM all,

any experience and tips for manipulating selenite? I have no experience in stone cutting or carving but apparently soap stone and selenite are very soft easy to work with. Since I am in need of a new pendulum and all it would need are a few new dremel bits (yes, I'm lazy ;) ) I thought I would give it a go. I like the look and feel of selenite and apart from not being completely water resistant i think it would make a nice pendulum. Properties I've read include supporting divination and removing doubt, so that's also nice for a pendulum.
Any of you use a selenite pendulum? happy with it?

BB,

Ladon
Please Login to Post a Reply

carving selenite into pendulum? 28 Jul 16 2:19 am America/Chicago #2

• Otatara
  • Thank you received: 98
In case this helps:

Due to most stone needing to be cut by diamond saw, see if you can buy a small rough piece, that is the right size to suit you.

If you don't want to change the shape of the stone itself, you may be able to do it completely by hand - use an indelible pencil to draw the design onto the soapstone,
then put on safety glasses and a respirator as dust goes EVERYWHERE, and use a small - and very sharp chisel with a blade 2mm wide. Hold it around 20 to 30 degrees to the stone for the straight lines and around ten to fifteen for curves, and gently tap it with a small hammer, working about a millimetre at a time. It will take time to do this, but it will be worth it; and if all you want is a decorated piece of soapstone this method will work, as it will on small pieces of wood that I've done in the past.

If you do want to change the shape of the stone itself, you will need to buy or borrow a jewellery saw, and learn how to operate it.